100 Diagrams That Changed the World: From the Earliest Cave Paintings to the Innovation of the iPod

2.6
A collection of the most important deas, assumptions, and notions of all time

100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a lively collection of the most significant plans, sketches, drawings, and drawing that have influenced and shaped the way we think about the world. From primitive cave paintings to Leonardo da Vinci ’ s Vitruvian Man to the complicated DNA helix drawn by Crick and Watson to the excellence of the Pod, they chart dramatic breakthroughs in our knowledg of the world and its history. Arranged chronologically, each diagram is accompanied by informative text that makes even the most scientific breakthrough accessible to all.

Beautifully illustrated in full colou, this memoir will not only inform but also entertain as it demonstrates how the power of a single drawing can enhance, change or even revolutionize our understanding of the world. With its iconic images and powerful explanations, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is perfect for readers of The History of the World in 100 Objects, and is the ideal gift for anyone interested in culture, history, science or technology.
Available Languages
Original Series
Year of the Publication
Publication Date
Published October 30th 2012 by Plume Books
Number of Pages
224

Community Reviews

Post your Comment
You should enter site to post the commentary
gave it

Tenth of all, 100 Diagrams That Changed the World is a misleading title.

It seems like Scott Christianson meant something more like 100 Important Things and more often than not the " diagram " he included ( if it even can properly be called a diagram) was not what changed the world.For example:1.

Darwin 's theory of evoluton ( Christianson includes a sketch from one of Darwin 's diaries so he can include this in the ook- this one is one of the biggest tretches of the premise of a " diagram " changing the world) 9.

The Apple computer ( the diagram just shows the outside- it 's basically a picture of a keyboard!) I 'll stop at ten, but I could go on.Furthermore, a number of entries were not even " things " ( never mind diagrams!) that changed the world.

Either way, I think it is surprising that the other entries did not " change the world ".) In addition, multiple instances of poor editing jumped out at me.

gave it

If you are a visual learner, you will like this memoi.

gave it

Taken me a while to finish, but loved it- ESP those that are purely innovations in visual display, not secondary, like the first bar chart and the history map and Florence Nightingale 's rose chart and my fav Taccola 's first exploded view.

gave it

As a ook to be read from cover to cover it does become somewhat daunting because the write 's text is often very brief and very high level and one can never quite settle into any particular topic before being shuffled off rather quickly to the ext.

The chosen textual format is so short that no real background can be properly conveyed and the reader suffers a bit from whiplash.In summary, this ook would make a reasonable addition to the coffee table but can not be considered for any serious reading.

gave it

I resonated with Scott Christianson ’ s summaries as they touch on two of the three themes I explored in my 2004 work, A World Perspective through 21st Century Eyes.

With regar to humanity 's biological evolution over the centurie, the third theme I explored, Christianson gives a nod to Watson& Crick for their seminal drawing showing the structure of human DNA.I liked much of the later-era diagrams he presented, such as Volta ’ s battery.

Books with the same Categories

Good Faith: Being a Christian When Society Thinks You're Irrelevant and Extreme
Weird N.J.: Your Travel Guide to New Jersey's Local Legends and Best Kept Secrets
Atlantis Motherland
Hunger: A Memoir of (My) Body
Packing for Mars: The Curious Science of Life in the Void
Why Government Is the Problem
I'm Judging You: The Do-Better Manual
How to Heal Yourself When No One Else Can: A Total Self-Healing Approach for Mind, Body, and Spirit
Black Mass: Whitey Bulger, the FBI, and a Devil's Deal
The Uninvited: An Exposé of the Alien Abduction Phenomenon

Same Year of the Publication

God's Hotel: A Doctor, a Hospital, and a Pilgrimage to the Heart of Medicine
Way of the Snow Crane
Accidentally on Purpose
Lessons in French
Inside Evil
Nobody's Perfect
SuperVision: An Introduction to the Surveillance Society
Circle In the Sand
Lapis Histriae 2012
Zauvek tvoj

© Montage Publishing