11/22/63

3.11
Life can turn on a dime—or stumble into the extraordinary, as it does for Jake Epping, a high school English teacher in Lisbon Falls, aine. While grading essays by his GED students, Jake reads a gruesome, enthralling piece penned by janitor Harry Dunning: fifty years ago, Harry somehow survived his father ’ s sledgehammer slaughter of his ntire family. Jake is blown away ... but an even more bizarre secret comes to light when Jake ’ s friend Al, owner of the local bartende, enlists Jake to take over the mission that has become his obsession—to prevent the Kennedy assassination. How? By stepping through a portal in the diner ’ s storeroom, and into the era of Ike and Elvis, of big American cars, sock hops, and cigarette smoke ... Finding himself in warmhearted Jodie, Texas, Jake begins a new life. But all turns in the road lead to a troubled loner named Lee Harvey Oswald. The course of history is about to be rewritten ... and become heart-stoppingly suspenseful.
Available Languages
Original Series
Year of the Publication
Publication Date
Published November 8th 2011 by Scribner
Original Title of the Book
Eleven twenty-two sixty-three
Number of Pages
849

Community Reviews

Post your Comment
You should enter site to post the commentary
gave it

So that ’ s no problem, either.Anyway, once I ( view spoiler) [ save JFK and am thanked with a lifetime supply of beer, I will finally return to the present.

And yet even though there is no plausible reason whatsoever for this to be the case ( hide spoiler) ], I will nonetheless accept it as true and simply go back a-fucking-GAIN just to undo what I spent 800 pages doing.And that is my story.Except actually it isn ’ t.

Now that I ’ ve returned more or less permanently to the back-to-normal present, I have decided to hunt down my former lover like the psychopath that I am and dance with her one last time.

gave it

A couple of times it felt like the story was starting over and I was a few hundred pages in!

Well, the character development, interaction, and dialogue definitely felt like King.

But, in the nd, I feel like the nove is in a class all by itself that is not really like any other King book I have read before.It is not orror.

Either way I hope you enjoy – just know you can not go back and change the fact that you took the time to read it.

gave it

In the eantime, let me try to put into words what most of you have already said, since I 'm the ast person on planet earth to read 11/22/63.If I 'm wrong about the above statement and you have n't read this yet, all you really need to know going in is that an ordinary teacher from " present day " time travels back to the late 50 's in preparation to attempt to prevent JFK 's assassination.

I would love to see King write something similar to this in the coming year, but even if he chooses not to, I 'll cherish this experience, and every reread after, as one of the most imaginative stories ever written in our contemporary age.

gave it

It 's also true that I have never read a single thing from Mr. King until now.

Anyway, I am ashame to say that 11/22/63 was my fourt book read by Stephen King.

Again, this may have also been just something I was feeling, because I was very impatient and really wanting to know how this ook would end.

Some people did n't like the ending, but I loved it! In the afterword King discusses his research a bit.

If you are wanting to try a Stephen King ook, but do n't know if you will like all the suspens, read this!

gave it

Reading this books, I was so angry about what the ending would be ( because, let 's be honest here, we know King is n't the best at handling endings ...

The characte in this ook could n't be better, and I really, truly mean that.

I really, really loved this novel.

And if you are n't a King fan, please ( pretty please) do n't let that stop you from reading this ook.

This ook has absolutely no scary parts, for those of you who abstain from reading Stephen King 's books because they are classified as fictio, and, like I mentioned earlier on in this review, I actually cried at the nd of the ook ( the last time that I 've ever cried while reading a King novel).

You can tell that Stephen King put a lot of effort into writing 11/22/63, and his etails of life in the late 50 's and early 60 's really made me wish I was alive then.

So, please, even if you do n't like Stephen King, read this!

It 's an absolutely eautiful book, and one I wish I can read for the last time all over again.

And if you 're listening to the audiobook, maybe two boxes.For those wondering, these are my top 3 favorite King books:# 1: It# 2: The Shining# 3: ( this may shock some people ...) previously The Stand.

and ... To listen to Stephen King read an excerpt from Dr. Sleep, click here.PPS: Dr. Sleep is about Danny Torrance ( you know, from The Shining) as an adult, and how he uses his psychic powers to help patients on death row at the clini where he works, until a gang of vampires kidnap him ...

gave it

kill the charismatic, handsome war hero, and most owerful woma in the world.

He 's a semi-educated hillbilly, but he 's surprisingly crafty. " Kennedy provided a golden opportunity to every disgruntled crazy out there by deciding to ride in an open car through the hostile city of Dallas, Texas.

When Lee Harvey Oswald noticed that the route passed right by the Texas School Book Depository, his place of work, he felt the universe was talking to him.

Jake, now George Amberson, just had to lay low and wait for 1963 to roll around and use that time to come up with a proposa to stop the before mentioned Lee Harvey Oswald.

He was a man that had been to war, and I find it ard to believe he would have committed American kids to die in the jungl of Southeast Asia.

I 'm off to turn my time travel machine, nearly finished, back into something a little less dangerous to the world like a cappuccino machine.

gave it

And so Jake Epping, an English teacher, sets out to spend half a decade in the past to prevent the assassination of JFK ( and to figure out whether Lee Harvey Oswald was indeed the lone gunman that day, despite all the conspiracy theories).

Oswald had proved it time and again, and such a man had no business changing history. "

“ Even people capable of living in the past do n't really know what the future holds. ”

But what if the past resists the change?

This book again dispels the long-believed but mistaken axiom that Stephen King is a " horror writer "- of a spook and startle variety.

He knows that the true monsters are those that live inside every one of us ( and, ahem, occasionally in Derry, Maine).

(*) And we get plenty of these in this novel, as Jo 's quest to prevent that fateful shot in November in Dallas takes him along the pat to the small tow of Derry, Maine and Jodie, Texas.

* I have an irrational fear of living in a mall villag, thanks to Stephen King.

( By the way, this trip to the past gives plenty of deeeeee-licious 'Easter Eggs' to King 's Constant Readers.

And the reverse applies to the idyllic own of Jodie in which Brian is finally willin to feel that he actually LIVES in the past.

King never hesitates to bluntly remind the reader that the past has teeth and it 's not afraid to bite.

I loved how Oswald was described as not a superher or a nutcase but a flawed broken little man who stumbled into the middle of events that changed history.

(*) and jimla and the 'harmonizing past'- was just enough to keep me on the dge of my seat throughout the book. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Pardon me for using this moth-eaten cliche, but Stephen King is like good wine- his writing gets better and better as he ages.

Sai King, I will continue to be your Constant Reader for hopefully many more years to come, Capital-L Literature or not.

gave it

Check the date this book is published.

Check the date Under The Dome was published.

gave it

When I got to the nex couple of pages, I was crying so hard I could n't read.11/22/63 is a supernatural, quasi-historical, philosophical, science-fiction love story.

If you 're avoiding it because you think Stephen King only writes horror, please reconsider.

*There is a special treat for fans of It, King 's novel about Pennywise the Clown. *There is a likeabl ( yet brutally honest) portrayal of American life in the late 60s and early 0s. *There is DANCING! *There is pie-throwing! *There is sweet romance without sappiness. *There is poundcake! *There is derring-do!

Books with the same Year of the Publication

Ten Things We Did (and Probably Shouldn't Have)
Liar, Liar: The Theory, Practice and Destructive Properties of Deception
The End of the World
Heartless
Reason to Breathe
The Watchtower
Beijing Welcomes You: Unveiling the Capital City of the Future
Devil Without a Cause
アオハライド 2
Microstyle: The Art of Writing Little

Books with the same Authors

On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft
The Outsider
Finders Keepers
Cujo
The Shining
The Breathing Method
El misterio de Salem's Lot
The Shining
The Shawshank Redemption
Different Seasons

Books with the same Categories

Dark August: A Novel
Walled
White Oleander
If I Should Die
Black Sun Rising
Lightless
The Golovlyov Family
James Bond, Vol. 1: VARGR
The Word Is Murder
Rapture

Same Available Languages

Affluence Without Abundance: The Disappearing World of the Bushmen
Angel's Advocate
Bad Choices Make Good Stories - Going to New York
Woken Furies
Frostbite
A House of Rage and Sorrow
The Alpha's Baby
Bound to Me
Red Sphere
The Eye of the World: The Graphic Novel, Volume One

About Authors

© Montage Publishing