11/22/63

3.2
Dallas, 11/22/63: Three shots ring out.
President John F. Kennedy is dead.


Life can turn on a dime—or stumble into the extraordinary, as it does for Jake Epping, a high school English teacher in a Maine town. While grading essays by his GED students, Jake reads a gruesome, enthralling piece penned by janitor Harry Dunning: fifty years ago, Harry somehow survived his father ’ s sledgehammer slaughter of his ntire family. Jake is blown away... but an even more bizarre secret comes to light when Jake ’ s friend Al, owner of the local iner, enlists Jake to take over the mission that has become his obsession—to prevent the Kennedy assassination. How? By stepping through a portal in the diner ’ s storeroom, and into the era of Ike and Elvis, of big American cars, sock hops, and cigarette smoke.... Finding himself in warmhearted Jodie, Texas, Jake begins a new life. But all turns in the road lead to a troubled loner named Lee Harvey Oswald. The course of history is about to be rewritten... and become heart-stoppingly suspenseful.
( back cover)

-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

The following is the Library of Congress Summary

On November 22, 1963, three shots rang out in allas, President Kennedy died, and the world changed. What if you could change it back? The author 's new boo is about a woma who travels back in time to prevent the JFK assassination. In this trilogy that is a homag to a simpler era, he sweeps readers back in time to another moment, a real life moment, when everything went wrong: the JFK assassination. And he introduces readers to a haracter who has the power to change the course of history. Jake Epping is a thirty-five-year-old high school English teacher in Lisbon Falls, Maine, who makes extra money teaching adults in the GED program. He receives an essay from one of the teacher, a brutal, harrowing first person story about the night fifty years ago when Harry Dunning 's father came home and killed his fiancée, his mother, and his son with a hammer. Harry escaped with a smashed leg, as evidenced by his crooked walk. Not much later, ake 's friend Al, who runs the local iner, divulges a secret: his storeroom is a portal to 1958. He enlists Jake on an insane, and insanely possible, mission to try to prevent the Kennedy assassination. So begins Jake 's new life as George Amberson and his new world of Elvis and JFK, of big American cars and sock hops, of a troubled loner named Lee Harvey Oswald and a beautiful high school librarian named Sadie Dunhill, who becomes the ove of Jake 's life, a life that transgresses all the normal rules of time.

-- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --

This is the full sized trade paperback, nearly identical to the first hardback edition. The back of the dust jacket from the paperback edition, became page one on this full sized trade paperback.

~
Available Languages
Original Series
Year of the Publication
Publication Date
Published July 24th 2012 by Gallery Books (first published November 8th 2011
Original Title of the Book
Eleven twenty-two sixty-three
Number of Pages
849

Community Reviews

Post your Comment
You should enter site to post the commentary
gave it

So that ’ s no problem, either.Anyway, once I ( view spoiler) [ save JFK and am thanked with a lifetime supply of beer, I will finally return to the present.

And yet even though there is no plausible reason whatsoever for this to be the case ( hide spoiler) ], I will nonetheless accept it as true and simply go back a-fucking-GAIN just to undo what I spent 800 pages doing.And that is my story.Except actually it isn ’ t.

Now that I ’ ve returned more or less permanently to the back-to-normal present, I have decided to hunt down my former lover like the psychopath that I am and dance with her one last time.

gave it

When I got to the next couple of pages, I was crying so hard I could n't read.11/22/63 is a supernatural, quasi-historical, philosophical, science-fiction love story.

If you 're avoiding it because you think Stephen King only writes horror, please reconsider.

*There is a special treat for fans of It, King 's novel about Pennywise the Clown. *There is a beautifu ( yet brutally honest) portrayal of American life in the late 0s and early 0s. *There is DANCING! *There is pie-throwing! *There is sweet romance without sappiness. *There is poundcake! *There is derring-do!

gave it

And so Jake Epping, an English teacher, sets out to spend half a decade in the past to prevent the assassination of JFK ( and to figure out whether Lee Harvey Oswald was indeed the lone gunman that day, despite all the conspiracy theories).

Oswald had proved it time and again, and such a man had no business changing history. "

“ Even people capable of living in the past do n't really know what the future holds. ”

But what if the past resists the change?

This book again dispels the long-believed but mistaken axiom that Stephen King is a " horror writer "- of a spook and startle variety.

He knows that the true monsters are those that live inside every one of us ( and, ahem, occasionally in Derry, Maine).

(*) And we get plenty of these in this novel, as Derek 's quest to prevent that fateful shot in November in Dallas takes him along the ay to the small tow of Derry, Maine and Jodie, Texas.

* I have an irrational fear of living in a larg own, thanks to Stephen King.

( By the way, this trip to the past gives plenty of deeeeee-licious 'Easter Eggs' to King 's Constant Readers.

And the reverse applies to the idyllic own of Jodie in which Joe is finally willin to feel that he actually LIVES in the past.

King never hesitates to bluntly remind the reader that the past has teeth and it 's not afraid to bite.

I loved how Oswald was described as not a illain or a nutcase but a flawed broken little man who stumbled into the middle of events that changed history.

(*) and jimla and the 'harmonizing past'- was just enough to keep me on the edge of my seat throughout the book. -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- Pardon me for using this moth-eaten cliche, but Stephen King is like good wine- his writing gets better and better as he ages.

Sai King, I will continue to be your Constant Reader for hopefully many more years to come, Capital-L Literature or not.

gave it

It 's also true that I have never read a single thing from Mr. King until now.

Anyway, I am glad to say that 11/22/63 was my irst book read by Stephen King.

Again, this may have also been just something I was feeling, because I was very impatient and really wanting to know how this ook would end.

Some people did n't like the ending, but I loved it! In the afterword King discusses his research a bit.

If you are wanting to try a Stephen King ook, but do n't know if you will like all the orror, read this!

gave it

Reading this novel, I was so intrigue about what the ending would be ( because, let 's be honest here, we know King is n't the best at handling endings ...

The characte in this ook could n't be better, and I really, truly mean that.

I really, really loved this essa.

And if you are n't a King fan, please ( pretty please) do n't let that stop you from reading this ook.

This ook has absolutely no scary parts, for those of you who abstain from reading Stephen King 's books because they are classified as fictio, and, like I mentioned earlier on in this review, I actually cried at the beginnin of the books ( the second time that I 've ever cried while reading a King novel).

You can tell that Stephen King put a lot of effort into writing 11/22/63, and his etails of life in the late 50 's and early 60 's really made me wish I was alive then.

So, please, even if you do n't like Stephen King, read this!

It 's an absolutely lovel book, and one I wish I can read for the fourth time all over again.

And if you 're listening to the audiobook, maybe two boxes.For those wondering, these are my top 3 favorite King books:# 1: It# 2: The Shining# 3: ( this may shock some people ...) previously The Stand.

and ... To listen to Stephen King read an excerpt from Dr. Sleep, click here.PPS: Dr. Sleep is about Danny Torrance ( you know, from The Shining) as an adult, and how he uses his psychic powers to help patients on death row at the ospital where he works, until a gang of vampires kidnap him ...

Books with the same Year of the Publication

What Happened to Goodbye
Wines and Spirits: Understanding Style and Quality
Radial Symmetry
South Indian Recipes
Abandon
The Art of Americanization at the Carlisle Indian School
11/22/63
Bitcoin: A Peer-to-Peer Electronic Cash System
Introducing CBT (Cognitive Behavioural Therapy): A Practical Guide
Ce ne spunem când nu ne vorbim

Books with the same Authors

Dolores Claiborne
Pet Sematary
The Shining
Full Dark, No Stars
El misterio de Salem's Lot
El visitante
Pet Sematary
'Salem's Lot
Eso
Ojos de fuego

Books with the same Categories

Elgen Guard General Handbook
Parade
Summer's Child
End of Enemies: A Briggs Tanner Novel
Wings of Sorrow and Bone
Fortunata y Jacinta
Animal Man, Vol. 1
Revolutionary War on Wednesday
Junie B. Jones and the Stupid Smelly Bus
The Opposite of Everyone

Same Available Languages

Here in Harlem: Poems in Many Voices
The Wishing Bones
Children of the Lion
Capote in Kansas
The Request
A Whisker of Trouble
Look Homeward, Angel
Hogwarts: An Incomplete and Unreliable Guide
The Ploughman's Lunch
The White City

About Authors

© Montage Publishing