A Bitter Truth

4

“ Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read. ”
New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens

“ Bess Crawford is a wea and ikable character. ”
Seattl Times

Already deservedly lauded for the remarkabl historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge ( A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a hird time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of urder. A terrific follow up to odd ’ s A Duty to the ead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “ one of the most espected writers in the genre ” ( Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Tyler, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.

Available Languages
Original Series
Year of the Publication
Publication Date
Published (first published August 30th 2011
Original Title of the Book
A Bitter Truth
Number of Pages
499
Asin
B004QWZC92

Community Reviews

Post your Comment
You should enter site to post the commentary
gave it

While I like the character ( nurse Bess Crawford) and the time and place ( England, WW I), this story was very disappointing.

gave it

But who is the child in question and could that simple question really be the eason for his death? As much as I enjoyed the novel and the suspens was I also a bit puzzled why it all had to be such a hush-hush thing.

When the truth finally was revealed about the child was not that overly surprised, I would have liked a more compellin and perhaps surprising mystery than that.

It was n't until Bess and Simon Brandon realized who it was and then everything made sense.One thing that really pleased me ( and confused me) was that Sergeant Lassiter Larimore has finally made his first entrance in this essay series.

gave it

Then, as I read the book, I thought possibly he was in love with Bess ( he goes wherever she goes in England).

Maybe her father is busy with war office stuff, but surely her mother would want to see her since she works in a war zone.

One thing that I thought would help The Question ( small spoiler) ( view spoiler) [ was that when Simon heard about the child he 'd ask her about the soldier who did all this for Bess ( get the orphanage list, the rescue, the trip to England).

gave it

Spoiled and making demands of Bess to stay or do things.

3) Give Bess a love life, a wee bit of romance in her life.

Bess needs growth as a person and in her personal life, instead of randomly getting accidentally entwined/ inserted in someone else 's mess.

gave it

Returning from the attlefields of France to England for Christmas leave, WWI nurse Bess Crawford encounters a desperate gir, rain-drenched and bruised in her building ’ s entry.

“ A Bitter Truth ” is the best, so far, of the three books in the Bess Crawford series.

How lucky are we readers to have two such good series from Charles Todd.A BITTER TRUTH ( Hist Mys-Bess Crawford-England/France-1917/WWI) – VGTodd, Charles – 3rd in seriesWm. Morrow, 2011, Unc. Proof – HC ISBN:

Books with the same Original Series

A Duty To The Dead
An Unwilling Accomplice
The Shattered Tree
A Bitter Truth
An Unwilling Accomplice
A Cruel Deception
A Duty to the Dead
A Pattern of Lies
An Impartial Witness
A Casualty of War

Books with the same Year of the Publication

Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children
Once: Poems
Pieces of Eight
A Wreath of Snow
Plague
Bear's Loose Tooth
Wild Coast: Travels on South America's Untamed Edge
Escape Artist: An Edna Ferber Mystery
The Power of Six
Stupid Fast

Books with the same Authors

Cold Comfort
A Cold Treachery
Hunting Shadows
Proof of Guilt
Legacy Of The Dead
Racing the Devil
The Red Door
The Confession
A Fearsome Doubt

Books with the same Categories

Toxic Assets
The Diddakoi
Firefly #3
The Truth About Thea
Final Catcall
You Must Not Miss
Habibi
The Lady Elizabeth
Orphans of the Sky
The Princess and the Pony

Same Available Languages

Sleepwalker: A Keyhole Novel
The Nest
Ōoku: The Inner Chambers, Volume 2
Wandering
Almost Like Christmas (A Mulholland / Strand Magazine Short)
Rapture Practice
A Cry From The Deep
Men Without Women: Stories
The Freedom of Being Human
Swan Song

About Authors

© Montage Publishing