A Breath Too Late

4
For fans of Woma in Pieces, All the Dar Places, and Girl, Interrupted comes a aunting and breathtaking YA contemporary debut novel that packs a powerful message: hope can be found in the arkness.

Seventeen-year-old Ellie had no hope left. Yet the day after she dies by suicide, she finds herself in the idst of an out-of-body experience. She is a spectator, swaying between past and present, retracing the events that unfolded prior to her death.

But there are gaps in her memory, fractured pieces Ellie is desperate to re-assemble. There 's her fathe, a songbird who wanted to break free from her oppressive cage. The boy made of brushstrokes and goofy smiles who brought color into a gray world. Her brooding father, with his sad puppy eyes and clenched fists. Told in epistolary-like style, this deeply moving novel sensitively examines the beautiful and terrible moments that make up a life and the complexitie that live in even the darkest of places. Perfect for fans of the critically-acclaimed Speak, I ’ ll Get You the Sun, and If I Stay.
Available Languages
Original Series
Year of the Publication
Publication Date
Expected publication: April 28th 2020 by Henry Holt & Company
Number of Pages
272

Community Reviews

Post your Comment
You should enter site to post the commentary
gave it

These tears are for her cousin and August, the two person who loved her, and were her lights in the arkness.

gave it

My opinion is my own and I am under no obligation to write this review.Equal parts beautiful and devastating, A BREATH TOO LATE is not an easy ook to read, but I absolutely believe it 'll be a lifesaver to many.Told from the erspective of Ellie Walker, a high school enior who 's just committed suicide yet still lingers in her old home and around the people she used to know, there are no magic tricks to this tory, no oments where Ellie breaks through the barrier of death and is unwilling to touch people from her past life.

With a decade and a half of hindsight, however, I 'm so grateful for the life I 've gotten to live -- even the hard, painful parts that were overwhelming to experience.You may not have that perspective as a eenager, which is why A BREATH TOO LATE is such a critical read.

gave it

It was absolutely devastating but incredibly beautiful.The best way to describe this book is that the main protagonist is in the same situatio as Mia in If I Stay, except that she is actually dead.

gave it

Suicide takes the life of 17 year old Meg.

gave it

It is a difficult to walk the line of pain and hope, but Callen danced on that tightrope like a seasoned circus performer.

Callen paints a picture with her words like the oy in her tory, like Ellie on her shoes that shows how beautiful the world really is.

Books with the same Year of the Publication

The Blossom and the Firefly
A Poised Nuisance (Lithe #1)
Sukulainen
Antigone Rising: The Subversive Power of the Ancient Myths
New Waves
Camino Winds
Remain in Love: Talking Heads, Tom Tom Club, Tina
Cinderella Is Dead
Pizza Girl
You Can Only Yell at Me for One Thing at a Time: Rules for Couples

Books with the same Categories

The Distance Between Us
Assassin's Heart
Návrat
Wunder
Eve & Adam
Hidden Monster
Across the Nightingale Floor
The Golem's Eye
The Outsiders
The XY

Same Available Languages

Tease
New American Haggadah
Where One Goes
Riding the Escalator and Terra Affirmative
In the Crease
Meditations of Ralph Waldo Emerson
Daunderlust: Dispatches from Unreported Scotland
Suppressed
White Trash Warlock
Blink

About Authors

© Montage Publishing