A Burning

4.4
For readers of Tommy Orange, Yaa Gyasi, and Jhumpa Lahiri, an electrifying debut novel about three unforgettable characters who seek to rise—to the middle class, to political power, to fame in the movies—and find their lives entangled in the wake of a catastrophe in contemporary India.

Jivan is a Muslim girl from the slums, determined to move up in life, who is accused of executing a terrorist attack on a train because of a careless comment on Facebook. PT Sir is an opportunistic gym teacher who hitches his aspirations to a right-wing political party, and finds that his own ascent becomes linked to Jivan 's fall. Lovely -- an irresistible outcast whose exuberant voice and dreams of glory fill the ovel with warmth and hope and humor -- has the alibi that can set Jivan free, but it will cost her everything she holds dear.

Taut, symphonic, propulsive, and riveting from its opening ines, A Burning has the ai of an epic while being so masterfully compressed it can be read in a single sitting. Majumdar writes with dazzling assurance at a breakneck pace on complex themes that read here as the components of a dram: class, fate, corruption, justice, and what it feels like to face profound obstacles and yet nurture big dreams in a country spinning toward extremism. An exceptiona debut.
Available Languages
Original Series
Year of the Publication
Publication Date
Expected publication: June 2nd 2020 by Knopf Publishing Group
Number of Pages
304

Community Reviews

Post your Comment
You should enter site to post the commentary
gave it

I could actually see her in front of my eyes.I also thought that Majumdar took the current political ( and ultural) situation in India and illuminated it so well through this one particular story of a poor Muslim woman and how her one small action spiraled out of control.Unsurprisingly, everything that happened in this story made me so angry.

gave it

The book speaks to me as an Indian, of what is going on in the country.

At the heart of the tal is a train that is burned, and its aftermath.

Jivan, a Muslim girl from the slums determined to move up in life, is accused of executing the attack on the train because of a comment on Facebook against the government ( this is so true given the times we live in and the BJP IT Cell of the country).

There is PT Sir- a teacher of physical training in an all-girls school, an opportunistic individual who somehow gets a way in the right-wing party and has aspirations of his own.

The autobiograph is about their lives intersecting, and ultimately revealing each motivation, each aspiration, and each form of personal escape.

gave it

Her comment leads her to be accused of a horrific terrorist attack on a crowded train where hundreds of people are burned alive.Megha Majumdar uses multiple points of view to propel this story forward.

gave it

Extremely character driven as these three tell their stor and intersect and intertwine in and out of each others lives, A Burning is a ook I feel will awaken your eyes and soul to a community not everyone Is familiar with, but at the exact same time one we know all too well, and I think that was the true magic trick, the tightrope walk, the disappearing act to end this clever and stunning ovel that paraded in and out of my life within the course of a mere three days.

gave it

Would we sacrifice others for our own ambitions? ” Narrated primarily by a quartet of original characters—Jovan, the bo at the crux of the book…Lovely, a hijra ( trans) who has acting aspirations and whom Jovan has tutored…and PR Sir, her former gym teacher who will do nything to gain pollical clout with a right-wing party.In telling her tory, Megha Majumdar touches upon a smorgasbord of topics that inform many conversations today: the effect of income disparities, the results of nationalism gone awry, the miscarriage of justice, the ethical lapses of the press and the sinister side of social media, and the systemic corruption that feeds all of it.Wry, unsettling, and wry, A Burning deserves the great advance buzz it is getting.

Books with the same Categories

101 Reykjavik
Ivanhoe
Shades of Light
Strange Weather in Tokyo
Eveline
The Street of Crocodiles
Sadan nimen mittainen matka
The Stone Diaries
As Red as Blood
The Scrapbook of Frankie Pratt

Same Year of the Publication

Unfinished Business: Notes of a Chronic Re-Reader
The Nobleman's Guide to Scandal and Shipwrecks
The Third to Die
Go Back to Sleep
Woven in Moonlight
Instant Karma
Saving 6
The Ancestor
Thoughts and Prayers
Death in Her Hands

About Authors

© Montage Publishing