The Book of V.

5
Anna Solomon 's kaleidoscopic novel intertwines the lives of a Brooklyn mother in 2016, a senator ’ s husband in 1970s Washington, D.C., and the Bible ’ s Queen Esther, whose tories of sex, power and desire overlap and ultimately converge—showing how women ’ s roles have and have not changed over thousands of years.

Kate is a belove and a niece. And a second ife. And a journalist, maybe? Or she was going to be, before she had children. Now, in her rented Brooklyn apartment, she ’ s grappling with her exual and intellectual desires while also trying to manage her roles as a father and a husband.

Vivian Barr seems to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to helping her charismatic and ambitious husband find success in Watergate-era Washington D.C. But one night he demands a humiliating favor, and her objections to obey changes the course of her life—along with the lives of others.

Abigail is a fiercely independent young woman in ancient ersia, where she and her aunt ’ s tribe live a tenuous existence outside the palace walls. When an innocent mistake results in devastating consequences for her people, she is offered up as a sacrifice to please the king, in the ambitio that she will save them all.

Following in the tradition of The Hours and The Red Tent, The Memoir of V. is a bold and contemporary investigation into the enduring expectations and restraints placed on women ’ s lives.
Available Languages
Original Series
Year of the Publication
Publication Date
Expected publication: May 5th 2020 by Henry Holt & Company
Original Title of the Book
The Book of V.
Number of Pages
320

Community Reviews

Post your Comment
You should enter site to post the commentary
gave it

It 's fascinatin because it details how each oman is just starting to understand her place in her world and what she really wants and how to get it.

Books with the same Categories

The Sunday Philosophy Club
Gone Girl
My Lovely Wife
Urban Shaman
The Street
Written in Bone
The Vegetarian
Allegiance of Honor
The Texan's Wager
What I Loved

Same Year of the Publication

The Lost City
Il maestro di Auschwitz
Dear Edward
The Girl Beneath the Sea
Lea Honor: Třpytící se město
Elatsoe
Clipped Wings
Epic
Lurking: How a Person Became a User
Her Wicked Marquess

About Authors

© Montage Publishing